What’s for Dinner Wednesday

Last week I was in line at the grocery store check out and saw the most beautiful sight. A magazine I’d somehow never seen before. A vision…

20160821_193729

An entire magazine devoted to cast iron cookware and the delicious stuff you can cook in it! How is it I’ve never SEEN this before? Just LOOK at that cover! The glistening pecans, that tender crust. Even the texture of the magazine’s cover is special; thick quality paper with a slightly rough, matte finish. This magazine can be described as nothing less than sexy and this issue even has something of a centerfold.

20160831_202937

LOOK at this! This is the cast iron collection of ONE couple in Tacoma, Washington. It is touted to be the largest cast iron collection in the world and yes, I am SO jealous.

I grew up cooking in cast iron and really can’t cook in anything else. I have my own modest collection that I use daily, some of it old, some new. It’s heavy and it cooks like nothing else. And I don’t have to worry about what sort of utensil I’m using when I’m cooking, because it isn’t going to get scratched up if I grab a metal spoon. The only thing I find myself worrying about is what I will do when I’m old and gray and can’t lift my precious iron skillet. Ah, that will never happen.

What this magazine made me realize is that I am grossly under using my beautiful cast iron. So many things that can be cooked in them that I’ve been using casserole dishes and cake pans for. I’m excited to have this publication and their Pinterest Boards. I can’t wait to try out some of the recipes, in fact a couple of them appear in this week’s menu. Of course this is their Fall Edition, so most of the foods are cold weather comfort foods and will have to wait a little while, but the pins on their boards will have me finishing up the garden’s produce in style.

I took another peek at the wine this week! It’s been two weeks since I last checked and I can see, smell and taste the difference!

It’s getting clearer and the yeasty smell has lessened. It doesn’t burn as much going down either, though that little bit did give me a little buzz. It is definitely a sweet wine, a dessert wine if you will. At least at this point it is. I’m going to let it settle another couple of weeks and see if it is ready to bottle. It needs a little more work.

In other news, we have a whole hog heading our way in a couple of weeks so I find myself planning the menus to use up things we have in the freezer to free up space for the little 200 lb. piggy. It’s been quite a challenge as the thing that is taking up the most space is the side of beef we bought earlier in the year. As a result, you will see that beef plays a staring role in our meals this very busy week.

BREAKFASTS:

Sunday Brunch – Cinnamon Rolls (made in a cast iron skillet)

Monday – Breakfast Banana Cookies and skim milk

Tuesday – Caitlin’s Fruity Oaty Bowl of Goodness

Wednesday – Almond butter Toast and a Hard Boiled Egg

Thursday – Caitlin’s Fruity Oaty Bowl of Goodness

Friday – Poached Egg and Turkey on 1/2 English Muffin

Saturday – Caitlin’s Fruity Oaty Bowl of Goodness

LUNCHES:

Monday – Apples & Almond Butter

Tuesday – Cheese, Crackers, Turkey & Fruit

Wednesday – Pita, Tomatoes, Cucumbers and Hummus

Thursday – Turkey, Apple and Cheese Quesadilla

Friday – Veggies & Hummus

Saturday – Gidget Sandwich Lunch

DINNERS:

Sunday – Million dollar Spaghetti

Monday – Short Ribs, Pasta Salad and Green Beans

Tuesday – Pork Roast with Veggies (iron skillet)

Wednesday – Beef & Cabbage Stir Fry

Thursday – Pizza

Friday –  (Girls night in) Appetizers, French Dip Sandwiches, Chips, Peach & Tomato Salad and Blackberry Margaritias

Saturday – OUT

 

Leave a Reply

