What’s For Dinner Wednesday

Fall weather has set in here this week and I’m just not amused. No matter how I try not to, I can’t help but shiver and remark about how cold it is. Well, it is! OK, so today was in the low 60’s but that’s put a chill in my bones. How am I going to make it through winter?

And before you all start sounding like my mother, yes, I’m dressing warmly. I’ve brought out my warm, woolly slippers and long sleeved shirts, I’m even wearing socks and hoodies in the morning. I hate socks.

At least I have my warm kitchen where I can cook up warm, comforting food. I know it comes as no surprise to you, but have to say it, I LOVE cooking! Not the actual preparation so much, but the colors and sizzle and the mouth-watering aromas mostly.

This is one sight that made me so happy I just had  to capture it.

20160927_164046This was my skillet last night as I was prepared Better Than Take-Out Fried Rice, a family favorite, and one of a few recipes I ever repeat. I love it because it’s a fridge cleaner. I know that when I have several little tubs of leftovers or veggies that may not get cooked up before they go bad, it’s time for fried rice.

Here I used 2 leftover pork chops, some left over corn, a bit of broccoli left from the veggie tray from Sunday’s game, some baby carrots chopped up, half an onion and about a cup of diced purple cabbage. Throw in a couple of eggs and scramble them up in the middle of the pan, toss in a couple cups of leftover steamed rice, white or brown and mix in about 1/4 C. of light soy sauce and serve! I never measure and I don’t follow the original recipe to the letter, but the basics are always there and it is always delicious, not to mention pretty. It’s fun too. Cooking should always be fun and free flowing.

This blog has seen quite a bit of activity since last Monday’s Musing about the Teal Pumpkin Project. I’ve never had more shares to facebook from this blog than this post has produced and it has resulted in a very interesting opportunity for this blogger, allowing me to share my message to more people. I can’t say much more than that, but in a couple of weeks I will share more details. In the meantime, visit that blog post, if you haven’t alread and find out more about the Teal Pumpkin Project and SHARE the hell out of it! I am on a crusade to see Teal Pumpkins EVERYWHERE!

This week focuses on continuing to make room in our freezers for the hog we have coming soon. We also did the dreaded cleaning out of the fridge, which produced a great deal of cheeses that need to be used up so our menus will reflect some of that. With that, here’s what’s for dinner on Momma T’s Table!

Breakfasts:

Sunday – Scones

Monday –1/2 Bagel with egg, onion and green pepper scramble

Tuesday – Caitlin’s Fruity, Oaty Bowl of Goodness

Wednesday – Almond Butter and Toast

Thursday – Caitlin’s Fruity, Oaty Bowl of Goodness

Friday – Baked Egg with Spinach and Tomatoes

Saturday – Caitlin’s Fruity, Oaty Bowl of Goodness

LUNCHES:

Monday – Baked Baked Sweet Potato with capers, goat cheese and tomatoes

Tuesday – Hard Boiled Egg and Hummus

Wednesday – Apple and Goat Cheese Panini

Thursday – Turkey & Hummus Sandwich

Friday – Quinoa and Veggie Salad

Saturday – Gidget Sandwich Lunch

DINNERS:

Sunday – Beef Stew and Biscuits

Monday – Grilled Ham and Cheese and Potato Soup

Tuesday – Basil, Tomato, Ricotta Pasta

Wednesday – Steak & Spinach Quesadilla with Spanish Rice

Thursday – Pizza night!

Friday – PUB CLUB!

Saturday – Salisbury Meatballs with Mashed Potatoes and Corn

Leave a Reply

