Try It Tuesday – Teal Edition!

Hello my readers! Forgive the absence. The Hubs and I have been working feverishly at setting up our Nightmare Before Christmas Halloween display! it is all pretty well done now and people have been driving by slowly looking and pointing and cheering…these are just the adults. Everyone seems excited about the display. We’ve been giving some of our oldest pieces a sprucing and we’ve added some new things too! We want it to look ESPECIALLY good since we are becoming a Teal Pumpkin house!

20161005_123210

I decorated indoors too! Those who REALLY know me, know what a big deal this is. I don’t usually fuss with the inside except for Christmas. The fact that this was still up on my TV stand as recently as Saturday is proof of how little decorating I do.

20160929_201518

But I’m happy to say that Christmas has been replaced by this:

Look! There’s even a little Teal Pumpkin! Best of all, with just a couple of swap-outs, this display will take me all the way through Thanksgiving until the Christmas stuff comes back to replace it! I think this deserves a couple Martha Stewart Points. 🙂

Since my first post on The Teal Pumpkin Project I have had several people ask me a lot about how to participate, where to get a pumpkin, etc. As a result, I spent some time last week posting pictures of pumpkins that I felt were just WAITING for someone to come along and give them a teal coat of paint!

Any of these would be great with a coat of teal paint. Maybe some sparkly paint or metallic paint, or paint and beads and bling! There are no rules as long as it’s TEAL!

But maybe you don’t like to paint, or spay paint as much as I do! (Oh I love spray paint!) No problem. Teal Pumpkin Project has partnered with Oriental Trading Company and they have Teal Pumpkin Yard Signs, Pumpkin decorating kits and even ideas on how to set up your trunk for a Teal Pumpkin Trunk or Treat experience!

Once you have a teal pumpkin the rest is EASY. Oh, let’s face it, getting a pumpkin wasn’t all that difficult! Simply print out these informational signs and post them with your pumpkin, in your yard or wherever to let people know that kids with dietary restrictions can safely trick or treat at your house, or your trunk as the case may be.

You can also pinpoint your house on their The Teal Pumpkin Project’s interactive map so that families can plan ahead and know where to go. I was THRILLED to see that 2 more teal dots have joined mine on the map here in Washington, and a couple more in neighboring towns as well! And none of them are people I have ever met! Word is getting out, but I want to see the TOWN painted teal!

Finally, get some fun trinkets for your kids to choose from. You can get those at OTC or the Dollar Store or the Party Isle at your favorite box store. I got some of mine from Century Novelty and put them in a pretty teal tray of my own making. (pass those Martha Stewart points over here.) I

As I was choosing what I would give out, I kept in mind that we always hand out full-sized candy bars, so I calculated our average cost of the candy bars and selected items that were comparable in price. I have a few more items that I had left over from Easter (non-Eastery stuff) that I will be adding. Not that I’m anticipating a LOT of kids this first year out, but our house does attract extra people.

So, as I said before, I want to see YOUR pumpkins and I’ve decided to post YOUR pictures of YOUR teal pumpkins right here on my blog every Friday as part of my PHOTO PHRIDAY post. Here’s how you can make sure I see your Teal Pumpkin:

  1. Take a photo of your awesome pumpkin and upload it to the comments section of this post OR to social media with the hashtag #mommatstealpumpkin
  2. Note your City and State so that others will know where to look for you.
  3. If you are doing a trunk or treat, tell me about that too. Where, when.

Try becoming a Teal Pumpkin House this year.You just might like it! It’s STUPID easy to do!  I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with. I’m sure there will be silly pumpkins and scary pumpkins and fancy pumpkins. All I care is that there are teal pumpkins.

Look for more about this venture and pictures of our yard on this blog Thursday. Won’t be threading it up, but I will be sharing some exciting news. 🙂 Stay tuned, as they say!

 

 

Leave a Reply

