Thankful Thursday

When I first posted about the Teal Pumpkin Project, my intent was to try and get the word out to as many people as possible about the struggle that families face when they have a child with dietary restrictions. To shine a light on that struggle and present this simple solution for inclusion that is the Teal Pumpkin Project.

As it turns out, that post got more shares on social media than ANY post I have made on this humble little corner of the internet. Did I mention that post was posted on this blog’s 4th anniversary? Never did I imagine that in all of those shares, my post would catch the eye of the local media.

But it did and am I ever glad! I’m happy to have this opportunity to share this project with WAY more people than I ever imagined. I’m thrilled that as a result, Trick or Treating/Trunk or Treating may be enjoyed by kids who might never have had the opportunity to safely participate before. I’m overjoyed at the prospect of seeing teal pumpkins EVERYWHERE I go (and have no doubt, I am checking). I love that my friend L. had an opportunity to talk about her beautiful boy E. and Prader Willi Syndrome and how their family strives to have as normal a life as possible in the midst of it all. It really is a most unexpected blessing and I have to thank those who took the time read that post and share and share and share it. My heart is full.

This piece airs tonight (Thursday) at 5:00 p.m. Central Time and again at 6:00 p.m. in a shorter format on our CBS affiliate, WMBD News 31. I am thankful that WMBD’s photographer Mary found us and worked so hard to get us on air. It is my hope that this news piece helps to paint all of the little towns around here and everywhere teal so that ALL kids can experience a typical Halloween!

I do hope that if you are able, you tune in to see what we have to say. My friend L. did a wonderful job of explaining how so many families with dietary restrictions feel and her boy E. was a super star! Mostly, I hope that you will get your teal pumpkins and tag them with #mommatstealpumpkin and share the original blog post or this blog post and your pictures and your signs and help me paint the world teal!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

#tealpumpkinproject

#tealistheneworange

 

 

Leave a Reply

