Harvest Skillet!

I’m back. At least today. I’m not going to say anymore about that.

What brings me back to the blog is this picture.

20170807_173609

I posted this to my facebook page this evening (yes, I’m one of THOSE people) and people started hitting that like and love button and commenting like crazy. Seems everyone had a connection of one sort or another to this dish. They either had memories of mom making it when they were younger or they loved it but hadn’t made it or they thought it looked good and wanted to know how to make it. That sparked the idea that maybe this would be an easy way to get back to my beloved blog.

So here it goes. Be aware…there is no “recipe” per se, this is really one of those see what you have coming out of the garden or what you can find at the farmer’s market or whatever and throw it in the pot kind of recipes. Most often, I make this dish with the new potatoes and green beans. There’s something about this combination that is so pleasing to the pallet, but sometimes I’ve thrown Brussels Sprouts in in place of the beans. When I have it on hand I put an onion in the mix, but this time I didn’t have one on hand. Sometimes I do it without the ham. See, no rules.

But here is an outline of the specific recipe I made tonight:

Start with the following (all measurements are approximate. I just add until I like what I see).

A pound or so of FRESH green beans (these were picked right out of my garden moments before hitting the pan)

About  1.5 lbs of new potatoes. I got a variety of colors. Fun.

1 onion sliced, chunked or diced…however you like it (I missed my onion. It adds some sweetness to the dish)

Chicken stock to cover…or nearly cover the veggies (can use water or veggie stock or whatever you like)

Diced ham…again, to your liking

A tablespoon or so of sugar (not exactly sure why, but I’ve always added it)

Pepper

Corn on the cob

Combine the beans, potatoes, ham, onion, sugar and pepper to a cast iron skillet or heavy pan. Pour stock or water over until nearly covered (as in the picture above). Bring it to an easy boil, cover tightly and simmer for 20 to 25 minutes, stirring occasionally. At the end of the time, add your corn on the cob to the top of the skillet.

20170807_180353

Lay them right on top, just like that. Put the lid back on and simmer another 15 minutes.

That’s it! It’s done. Dish the yummy concoction up with a slotted spoon and serve along side your corn on the cob. Or cut the corn off and add it to the other yummy veggies if that’s the way you want. The main thing is to ENJOY these tasty treats of summer.

20170807_181859

Well, would you look at that? I blogged! I want to do it again and I certainly intend to do so, but I will make no promises when or what content. I have a lot going on that I want to share with you and I am going to try to fit it in between all else. Thanks for sticking around to read this blog. It means a lot.

Leave a Reply

