I Have Something to Teal You

The garden is beginning to put out a lot of delicious, healthy fruits and veggies. I’m delighted to have these yummy treats to put on the table, put up in jars and share with my neighbors and friends. But there is something else growing in my garden and it’s something that has me a whole lot more excited about what my garden is producing than the healthy food I’ve cultivated with such great care.

IMG_2859

Meet my amazing pumpkin vine. But this isn’t just ANY pumpkin vine, and that is what has me so excited! This is a BLUE MOON pumpkin vine and I carved out what space I could in my tiny garden and I have gone out daily to direct the vines to grow this variety specifically for the Teal Pumpkin Project!

Those who have followed my blog in the last year will understand my connection to the Teal Pumpkin Project. If you are not familiar with what I’m talking about or why I’m so excited, you can catch up here or here or any of the links at the bottom of these two blog posts.

Last year, our beautiful town of Washington, IL had the most teal pumpkin houses in the area. We had so many blips on the map. Even the Police Department was on board! We had a record number of visitors to our Nightmare Before Christmas Halloween yard last year, many because they knew we were a food allergy safe home.

Enter the Blue Moon pumpkins. While they aren’t quite teal, they are a blue pumpkin and I’m hoping they will help me get more people to join the movement of providing alternatives to food treats at their homes. My goal this year is to get our whole street to participate. I’m thinking I’ll offer the blue pumpkins to the first who respond and put their mark on the map.

I plan to distribute information to the local businesses on the square too. They usually have an evening where kids can come and trick or treat at their shops. The F.A.R.E. (the Food Allergy Research and Education) website has a lot of resources available for the Teal Pumpkin Project, including flyers for getting neighborhoods and businesses involved.

It’s not too early to start thinking about how you will participate in the Teal Pumpkin Project this year. I started all the way back in the spring when I planted those seeds to grow my Blue Moon pumpkins. The pumpkins are popping up in stores now. All they need is a coat of teal paint and you’re on your way! I just saw this beauty on JoAnn’s website after running a search for “Halloween”. They have 2 different sizes and they are on SALE right now!

NOW is the time to think about it. NOW is the time to make a plan. Start thinking about what you can offer. Check out the trinkets you can get at the dollar stores or on Oriental Trading or other similar sites! F.A.R.E. even has a starter kit with all sorts of goodies in it! Start seeing teal now and light up that map with a gazillion teal dots!

You can start by sharing this blog post.

Keep it tuned here for more tips, ideas and persuasion. 🙂 If you know me, you know I think that Halloween is the most wonderful time of the year, and everyone should be included in this wonderful fun!

 

Leave a Reply

