Thirsty Thursday – Cucumber Basil Mojito

Look! You’re getting a twofer today! Today IS Thursday, after all.

With the garden ramping up production, I felt another garden themed drink this week. I have plenty of cucumbers and lots of herbs so I actually searched Pinterest for a cocktail with herbs and cucumbers. This one looked nice and refreshing and it was served in a canning jar so of course it was the one I had to try!

Muddled in the glass.

The recipe is simple: Lime wedges, cucumber and basil muddled together with rum and lime juice. Add ice and club soda and voila! This magical concoction was to be mixed in the same glass as it was served. I tried it that way and it was OK, but there was an awful lot of stuff in the bottom so I tried it again….my way.

Muddled, shaken and strained

Here’s what I did.

In a shaker muddle:

  • 1 chunky slice of cucumber cut in half
  • 2 or 3 wedges of lime
  • 8 or 9 basil leaves
  • 1 T. honey, the original recipe suggested honey simple syrup (equal parts honey and water brought to a boil and cooled) and it may have mixed better, but I found no issues using honey straight.
  • 1 oz white rum

Add ice and shake. Strain into a pint jar filled with ice, top with club soda, garnish and enjoy.

Shaking and straining gave the same flavor without all of the extra “salad”. (Yes, I tried it both ways) In fact, I think the basil flavor came through better when I shook it all and strained it rather than muddling it in the glass and topped it with the soda.

Either way, it is a perfectly refreshing drink for summer!

Cheers!

Leave a comment